Parliamentary Tweeter of the Year

I am really chuffed to learn that I have been named ‘Parliamentary tweeter of the Year’ in this year’s award organised by Westminster Public Affairs. I want to thank everybody who voted for me and participated in the public vote. Everyone will know how much I love twitter and I see it as an invaluable tool to communicate, share information and debate. This General Election is likely to be the first UK election where social media will play a major role in shaping public opinion and the vast majority of MPs now make use of this medium.

In Scotland we are perhaps ahead of the game. During the referendum social media became a place where Yes supporters shared information and mutually supported each other. Without Twitter and other social media our key messages would probably never have secured such a large audience. Twitter and other social media allowed us the platform and the opportunity to inform, campaign and to challenge some of the established orthodoxies of the mainstream press.

Thanks again and I will now get down to the business of tweeting the most exciting General Election that Scotland has perhaps experienced.


Below is the press release from Westminster Public Affairs

Pete Wishart MP voted ‘Parliamentary Tweeter of the Year’ at 2015 Political Twitter Awards

Pete Wishart MP has been named the UK’s ‘Parliamentary Tweeter of the Year’ at the 2015 Political Twitter Awards. The SNP MP for Perth and North Perthshire fought off stiff competition from Respect MP George Galloway who came second in the vote, and Green MP Caroline Lucas who came third. More than 2,000 people voted to decide the winner.

Of the other nine categories (voted on by the judging panel) winners included Stella Creasy MP, who won ‘Best Constituency Tweeter’, and Andrew Percy MP, who won ‘Funniest Tweet’. while Labour Leader Ed Miliband MP scooped the less prestigious ‘Selfie of the year’ award for his shot with, among others, Joey Essex (see HERE) and Oscar-winning actor Emma Thompson.

The top placed Tory MP in this year’s public vote for the Parliamentary Tweeter of the Year was Ed Vaizey MP, finishing in 4th place. Top Lib Dem was David Ward MP in 5th and Tom Watson was Labour’s highest placed MP, taking 6th spot. You can see a full list of categories and winners from this years awards at

Responding to his victory Pete Wishart, MP for Perth and North Perthshire, who has over 13,000 followers on the social networking site, said: “I am delighted to have won this fantastic award and I want to thank everybody that voted for me as Parliamentary tweeter of the year. Social media is increasingly important to get our messages across and is increasingly the place where we all meet to discuss the issues and exchange views. Twitter allows us to have conversations with our constituents, promote the issues that are important to us and it is also just great fun. Most MPs are now on twitter and it will only continue to grow in importance and influence as the General Election approaches.”

The Political Twitter Awards, set up by UK lobbying firm Westminster Public Affairs (please link in all online copy to, celebrates the great and the good and the gaffes and guffaws of the UK’s MPs on social media site Twitter.

Olly Kendall (@OllyKendall), Managing Director of Westminster Public Affairs who organised this year’s awards and one of this year’s judges, said: “Huge congratulations to Pete for his victory. He won the popular vote by a fair margin over his closest competitor.

“It is arguably telling that the top three in the Parliamentary Tweeter of the Year category voted for by the public are not from Westminster’s three biggest parties. It suggests that Twitter can be an effective tool for MPs from the other parties, giving them a platform that the traditional media does not always  provide them with.”

The full list of winners at this years awards:

  • Selfie of the Year – Ed Miliband MP (@Ed_Miliband)

  • The ‘Ed Balls’ Twitter Gaffe of the Year – Emily Thornberry MP (@emilythornberry)

  • Best Parody Account – General Boles (@GeneralBoles)

  • Funniest Tweet – Andrew Percy MP (@andrewpercy)

  • Most Prolific Backbench Tweeter – George Galloway MP (@georgegalloway – calculated by formula outlined below)

  • Apology of the Year – Michael Fabricant MP (@Mike_Fabricant)

  • Most Influential Tweet – Baroness Warsi(@sayeedawarsi)

  • Best Constituency Tweeter – Dr Stella Creasy MP (@StellaCreasy)

  • Parliamentary Tweeter of the Year – Pete Wishart MP (@PeteWishart – decided by a public vote)

  • Hack of the Pack – Paul Waugh (@PaulWaugh)

At the end of last year Westminster Public Affairs ( published its ‘Parliamentary Twitter Analysis 2014’ in which it found that the use of Twitter by MPs was on the rise, with 71% of MPs now using the site and a select few sending more than 5,000 tweets each year.

The judging panel for this years awards were:

  • Michael Crick, Political Correspondent, Channel 4 News

  • David Singleton, Editor of Public Affairs News

  • Nick Tyrone, Associate Director of CentreForum

  • Olly Kendall, Managing Director of Westminster Public Affairs

2 thoughts on “Parliamentary Tweeter of the Year

  1. Pingback: Parliamentary Tweeter of the Year | SNP Perth R...

Comments are closed.